Santa Barbara

Santa Barbara (1984)


Santa Barbara is an American television soap opera, first broadcast in the United States on NBC on July 30, 1984, and last aired on January 15, 1993. The show revolves around the eventful lives of the wealthy Capwell family of Santa Barbara, California. Other prominent families featured on the soap were the rival Lockridge family, and the more modest Andrade and Perkins families. The serial was co-produced by NBC and Dobson Productions until February 1985, when New World Pictures joined NBC and Dobson as a production partner. The newly created partnership, New World Television, then served as the distributor for the show. Santa Barbara aired in over 40 countries around the world. The show's popularity continued to rise, and it even had fans in the White House. In 1985, when character Augusta Lockridge was blinded following a tunnel collapse, Ronald Reagan sent actress Louise Sorel a letter saying he and Nancy were praying for her and hoped she recovered. Santa Barbara has won 24 Daytime Emmy Awards and was nominated 30 times for the same award. The show also won 18 Soap Opera Digest Awards, and won various other awards. In 1993, NBC replaced Santa Barbara with game shows Scrabble and Scattergories. Shortly before the program was canceled by NBC, New World Television tried to shop Santa Barbara to other broadcast and cable networks, but failed to find one that would air the show.

Score: 3.3/10 from 3 votes
First Air Date: 1984-07-30
Last Air Date: 1993-01-15
Total Seasons: 10
Total Episodes: 2138
Status: Ended
Network: NBC

All Seasons

Season 1
First air date: 1984-07-30
Season 2
First air date: 1985-01-02
Season 3
First air date: 1986-01-02
Season 4
First air date: 1987-01-02
Season 5
First air date: 1988-01-04
Season 6
First air date: 1989-01-03
Season 7
First air date: 1990-01-02
Season 8
First air date: 1991-01-02
Season 9
First air date: 1992-01-02
Season 10
First air date: 1993-01-04


Jed Allan
Robin Wright
as Kelly Capwell
Lane Davies
Nancy Lee Grahn
as Julia Wainwright Capwell
Todd McKee
Robin Mattson
as Gina Capwell
Marcy Walker
as Eden Capwell
Nicolas Coster
as Lionel Lockridge
Judith McConnell
A Martinez
as Cruz Castillo
Robert Newman
as Kirk Cranston
Ava Lazar
Joel Crothers
Jonna Leigh Stack
Julie Ronnie
Martina Deignan
Melissa Reeves
Paul Burke
Stephen Meadows
Wolf Muser
Henry Darrow
as Rafael Castillo
Justin Gocke
as Brandon Capwell
Justin Deas
as Keith Timmons
Leonardo DiCaprio
as Mason Capwell
Judith Anderson
as Minx Lockridge


Writing Charles Pratt, Jr. Writer
Writing Lynda Myles Writer
Writing Frank Salisbury Writer
Writing Linda Hamner Writer
Writing Anne Howard Bailey Writer
Writing Gary Tomlin Writer
Writing Courtney Simon Writer
Writing Patrick Mulcahey Writer
Production Mary-Ellis Bunim Executive Producer
Production Jill Farren Phelps Executive Producer
Production John Conboy Producer
Production Paul Rauch Executive Producer
Production Steven Kent Producer
Production Julie Hanan Carruthers Producer
Production Charlotte Savitz Producer
Production Leonard Friedlander Producer